Message on a Sign

I enjoy reading those signs with the letters that somebody has to manually change. LED-lighted digital signs are cool, but I still love the ones that have to be physically changed.

Perhaps, it’s because I used to update my church’s sign every week when I was in high school. It was easy because I lived across the street and because the church’s pastor usually selected the message for the sign.

But I digress…

There’s a pizza place just down the road from me that has a sign where they can add messages.

Here’s the message that has appeared on the sign for a few days now.

Sign Message

Thank you God things can be worse

I’ve been wondering about its meaning since I first saw it.

On my way home from church yesterday, I did something a bit out of character for me. I stopped at the pizza place. Not to order a slice, for that would have been entirely within the realm of possibility.

No, I stopped to ask if there is a specific reason that the message was posted.

Alas, the young lady working at the counter could not provide an answer to my inquiry.

Thank you God things can be worse

Is it a reflection on a difficult economy?

Was there a tragedy in somebody’s life?

Is it meant as a reminder to be thankful in spite of life’s challenges?

Or something else entirely?

Thank you God things can be worse

It’s something to ponder.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’ve often heard it said that if you have things bad, you don’t need to look very far to find someone who is in a worse situation than you are in. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    January 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Feb »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
