A New Year… a new challenge

“Zero to Hero.” It’s a catchy phrase. It’s also a WordPress challenge that I’m accepting.

The guantlet was thrown down by one of my favorite and funniest bloggers: Harvey Millican. He posted on Facebook that he was joining this 30-day challenge, and he asked another blogger – Debbi, and me to join him. Debbi didn’t hesitate, and she joined right away. (She’s an amazing photographer, by the way.)

Alas, I didn’t see the Facebook post until after the challenge began. As soon as I saw it, I decided that I needed to use Zero to Hero as an opportunity to retool and refocus on this blog.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t get my laptop to power up. The battery died. Wouldn’t charge.

Yeeeee-arrrrrrgh. (Imagine me sounding like an annoyed Chewbacca.)

A couple days later, and I’ve finally managed to access my blog from my even-older desktop computer.

Yes, I know… who uses a desktop these days? I would have tried other methods of posting, but my wireless router doesn’t accept smoke signals and my carrier pigeons couldn’t find a Wi-Fi signal.

So, drum-roll please. Here is my answer to the Day 1 assignment which asks this ordinary blogger to Introduce Yourself:

My name is Wade Abbott. I’m a dad, a husband, and a bit of a geek. Okay. I’m a big geek. (Didn’t you notice the Star Wars reference earlier?)

Forget about Spring, Fall, Summer and Winter. I believe that there are only two seasons: roller coaster season and college hockey season. For a few glorious weeks in October and April they both occur at the same time.

All in all, I think that I am a pretty ordinary guy. And I’m okay with that. I think it’s the ordinary people in our world who are the most inspiring. They are the ones who make the world go ’round. They are the ones who need their stories told.

My goal is not to simply write about myself. Rather, I want to share the stories of ordinary folks who make a difference, be it in ways large and small. More on that later in this challenge, I suspect.

So, that’s the first assignment completed. Yet, I’m a few days behind, and I hope to attempt to catch up.

Frankly, I’m blaming it on the laptop.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. That’s the spirit!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the invite to join you in this endeavor!

      Reply
      • I am just so thrilled to have you back! Perhaps one day soon we’ll be passing through your neck of the woods and we can finally meet in person!

      • I certainly hope we can make that happen someday. I’ve thought the same thing, too. There are A LOT of roller coasters that we want to ride in Texas someday. Hopefully, we’ll be able to afford a trip sometime down the road.

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    January 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Feb »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
