Space: A Dream Delayed?

Much of my childhood was spent with an eye on the stars. I envisioned myself orbiting the earth on a space shuttle or headed beyond earth’s gravitational pull on a mission to Mars. I read everything I could about space travel. I even went to Space Camp as an 8th grader in 1987.

Side note: my mom sent me a link to a Slate.com post about Space Camp complete with pictures from that era. No, I’m not in these pictures. But I do have a picture of the simulator seat I occupied as commander of a simulated shuttle mission. (Did I mention that I was the youngest commander for a shuttle mission during the week I attended Space Camp?) While you laugh at my geekiness, here’s the pic:

Space Camp Shuttle Simulator - 1987

Space travel is a dream that has faded in my adult years, but never entirely disappeared.  A few years ago, my heart ached as I watched television coverage of Columbia’s demise. Most recently, I’ve watched the last missions of the space shuttle program with a bit of sadness.

Earlier today, I think my son recognized my nostalgic look-back for what it was. He said, “Dad, maybe you and I can fly into space someday.”

“Maybe son, maybe,” I said with a smile as I envisioned the possibility of commercial space travel. Could it be a dream delayed?

You never know.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Wade Abbott

     /  July 10, 2011

    Maybe grandfather son and grandson.

    Reply
  2. springtimesoul

     /  July 10, 2011

    And leave the women behind to worry?

    Reply
  3. All things are possible! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
