Floored

There’s something cathartic about ripping out old carpet to discover nice hardwood floor hidden underneath. I needed a little rainy-day stress relief last week, so I finally decided to rip out the ugly living room carpet that’s been collecting all manner of dirt. It’s impossible to clean. Time for it to go.

Blech!

Things were going great. The floor underneath looked pretty good. That is, until I pulled up the section near the front door:

Ugh. Not a pretty sight.

Looks like there was tile in that area prior to the carpet. I knew that my wife, none too enthused about the project anyway, was going to be less-than impressed with the entryway.

My prediction was right on the mark. She’s already contacted my folks to move this project along a little faster. While I’m sure I can accomplish this on my own, I won’t turn down the help from my folks. They’ve done an amazing job at converting an ol’ barn of a house into a cozy home!

Either way, there’s some work ahead.

Like so many projects in life, this one will likely take on a life of its own:

  • The floor needs some sanding and refinishing.
  • The walls need some paint.
  • The windows should probably be replaced.
  • And I need some new baseboards and quarter round.

At least the ugly carpet is gone!

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  June 28, 2011

    Reminds me of our Wheeling house. The wallpaper in the front entry was ugly, really ugly. On my way out the door one morning, I said, “for two cents, I’d just pull this down.” I came home to two pennies on the table and no more ugle wallpaper. However, the previous owners let their childre write crazy things on the wall before the paper went up. Oops!

    Reply
  2. Wade Abbott

     /  June 28, 2011

    get out the belt sander

    Reply

Leave a Reply

