Petitions in the Rain

I’ve been collecting signatures today for my campaign for County Legislature, (as well as for my fellow candidates). It’s something I thoroughly enjoy: good exercise and the opportunity to meet some great folks.

Except when it pours rain.

I was doing my best to ignore those grey clouds a little while ago. However, they didn’t ignore me. Down came the soaking rain.¬†Since I was canvassing my neighborhood, I opted to wait out the rain at home.

When I opened the door, my wife looked at me quizzically. I stood in the doorway with water dripping off my head. With an amused smile on her face, she asked, “Is it raining again?”

I answered nonchalantly. “Nope. Just fell into a swimming pool.”

Looks like there might be a break in the precipitation. Time to clip the pedometer onto the ol’ belt and head out with some more petitions…

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Keep walkin’… You’ll get those signatures. How many do you need?

    Reply
  2. Mary Christensen

     /  June 25, 2011

    I’ve wondered the same thing–how many signatures are required to get your name on the ballot? But I know you will keep knocking on doors even after you get the needed signatures. I’m glad you enjoy it.

    Reply
  3. It’ll definitely be a Summer and Fall defined by knocking on doors. I’ve already put 15+ miles of walking into the campaign, and I haven’t been able to do as much campaigning as I hoped. (Mostly due to conflicts from grad school.)

    I need close to 400 signatures to get on the ballot on the Republican line. Figure on doubling that to be sure.

    Reply
  4. Wade Abbott

     /  June 26, 2011

    Matthew 7:7 Perhaps a little out of context but keep on knocking and remember it when yo need to knock at God’s door.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

