The Politics of Ice Cream – the Sequel

Last summer I wrote a post about the successful return of the ice cream truck to Niskayuna, NY. That left only one community near my home which bans the treat-filled trucks. Actually, it is my hometown of Rotterdam, NY with the ban on ice cream trucks.

It looks like Rotterdam could follow Nisky’s lead. I received this comment from “Joe” to my previous post last night:

Just an update my son Michael approached the town of Rotterdam 6/22 with a petition to bring ice cream trucks back to rotterdam. The town supervisor seemed to embrace the idea. Hoping to get a resolution voted on by the next town meeting will keep you all posted

I opened my copy of the Daily Gazette this morning and read this:

An 8-year-old boy’s appeal to the Town Board may prompt Rotterdam to end a decades’ long ban on ice cream truck vendors.

Michael Pierce turned in a petition with 50 signatures during yesterday’s town board meeting. (Good for him! I can attest that it takes a fair amount of work to collect that many signatures.)

Sounds like it’ll be up for public comment at next month’s board meeting. More ice cream and politics down the road! Stay tuned for the yummy updates.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

