Fun with Dragons and Digital Video

My last official grad school class at The College of Saint Rose, Digital Video Production, is nearing an end. Tonight we had a great time collecting video of a practice session for a local dragon boat racing team. They’re called “Hope in the Boat.” It’s a great organization, and I’ll have to write more about them later.

In the meantime, and especially for my brother’s benefit, (he loves this video/movie stuff, lives and works in LA), here’s a photo of me pretending to be a sound guy while one of my classmates shoots some video. Not sure why we left our lifejackets on when we were nowhere near the water for this particular shot. And special thanks go out to my friend Danielle for taking a great picture of the back of my head:

Sounds good to me

I’m sure I was doing it wrong.

Clearly though, the dragon boat paddlers were doing it right.

Dragon Boat

6/24/11 Update:

I received a photo of my attempt at being a sound man from my classmate Alex…

Photo by A. Englander. Used with permission.

I’m thinking the back of my head might be my better side. 🙂

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Kenny Abbott

     /  June 21, 2011

    I’ve seen worse boom operation. There are a few things to be corrected but I’m sure that was not the point of the class. But for the sake of being able to school my older brother, I just do want to point out that I think that boom pole is upside down!! But I am no sound expert. So don’t quote me. But as long as it sounds good, that’s what’s important.

    Reply
    • Told ya’ I was doing it wrong. Thanks for the feedback!

      But then again, I hadn’t worked the sound side of things for my digital video classes until this shoot. I figured I did well enough to figure out where the XLR cables plugged into the camera, and I did find the switch that provided phantom power to the mic. Still, I doubt that I’ll be using a boom pole again in the foreseeable future.

      Reply
  2. springtimesoul

     /  June 21, 2011

    My boys have so much in common.

    Reply
  3. Wade Abbott

     /  June 21, 2011

    Nice navy haircut

    Reply

Leave a Reply

