Dad’s Day at the Amusement Park

Riding the Carousel

In my view, there’s no better way to celebrate Father’s Day than spending a couple hours at an amusement park. Better yet, make it a small family park located nearby. That’s just what we did this afternoon: a brief visit to Hoffman’s Playland. It’s a gem tucked away in the suburbs of Albany.

Tim the Red Baron

Hand Stamp

Furthermore, Hoffman’s provided a fantastic welcome. Dads received a goofy little hand stamp upon arrival. Make that a little Goofy hand stamp. Whatever the shape, its purpose was 100% fun: free rides for dads!

As a result, the place was crawling with dads. Many of these dads had t-shirts declaring themselves “#1 Dad” or “World’s Best Dad.” I can’t be sure, but that may be false advertising. After all, I’m sure the best dad I know lives a couple hours south of Albany. He’s got a handmade wood plaque to prove it. Plaque beats t-shirt, right?

All joking aside, it was great to see dads out enjoying the day with their children. It certainly made me smile. Spending the afternoon with my boys on a beautiful day couldn’t make me happier. Riding a roller coaster with ’em was icing on the cake.

Of course, I can’t forget one thing: Happy Father’s Day Dad! You’re #1 in my book!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  June 20, 2011

    That #1 Dad plaque has been on your Dad’s desk for nigh onto 30 years. Where did the time go?

    Love the photo of you and Danny. He looks less like his brother and more like his mom. He certainly seems to be enjoying his Father’s Day.

    Reply
    • I always get a kick out of seeing the plaque on Dad’s desk.

      And I love the pic of Danny and me. Ellen is a far better photographer than me.

      Reply
  2. Wade Abbott

     /  June 20, 2011

    It is nice to be recognized but we all pale in comparison to our Numbe One Dad in heaven.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

