What a card!

I picked up Timothy at preschool this morning. Just another normal Thursday pickup. Or so I thought.

After the typical greeting (a running tackle/hug), Timothy surprised me with an early Father’s Day card and gift: a hand-painted cup filled with trail mix and one of the most unique cards I’ve ever received.

Inside the card were these words:

I Love My Dad Because…

“He reads books to me at night, before I go to bed!”

Love, Tim

I’m lovin’ this Dad gig.

🙂

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  June 17, 2011

    Love the pink tie!

    “reads books” and not “rides roller coasters” :^)

    Reply
    • Not exactly my favorite color for a tie, but it really works well on the card. Very bright!

      And as much as we enjoy riding coasters together, reading books is such a special time every night.

      Reply
  2. Wade Abbott

     /  June 17, 2011

    Keep reading those books and skip those cell phones for a long time.

    Reply
  3. Mary Christensen

     /  June 17, 2011

    How special that reading books to him tops his list of reasons to love his dad. I’m sure taking him to the library would make the list also.

    Reply
    • Gotta give my wonderful wife, the librarian, a lot of credit for this, too. She set the trend of going to the library with boys every week.

      And I think one of the reasons the boys, especially Timothy, really enjoys having me read is that I try to bring a variety of “voices” to the experience. (Case in point: my Green Eggs & Ham voices consist of a British accent for Sam-I-Am and a Nixon-like voice for the other character.)

      Reply
  4. That Tim sounds like an awesome kid! Must be the name.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

