Mighty Bug Hunters – Part 1

We’re on a bug-hunting kick at our house. Generally I like to see the bugs leave the house, not enter it. However, there is an exception for education. We are running a catch-and-release program led by bug-hunter Timothy:

Indoor Habitats

One of the latest aquisitions is a daddy long-legs. Pretty cool li’l guy:

Daddy Longlegs

But the most exciting additions are a half-dozen or so creepy crawlies. They look a bit like orange and black alligators. Really tiny alligators. We’ve had a fascinating journey learning about them. Here’s a pic:

What am I?

Can you identify it? (We can now, but more on that later.) Go ahead, take a guess. No cheating by looking it up online. Stay tuned, and find out more in Part 2.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  June 16, 2011

    I remember when you had a live bug collection – it was supposed to stay on the patio

    Reply
    • Did it stay on the patio?

      Reply
      • springtimesoul

         /  June 18, 2011

        I remember Phillip losing his tomato worm, and me fussing that I better not find it in my garden. Otherwise, we followed the catch and release regimen.

      • I remember the tomato worm. That was another cool one, but i can certainly understand why you wouldn’t want it in the garden!

  2. Mary Christensen

     /  June 16, 2011

    I think Timothy is being “home schooled.” I trust the bugs are being carefully “caged” so they won’t show up in my bed when I get there!

    Reply
    • I’m not sure, but Timothy might be home-schooling me. We’re constantly breaking out the encyclopedia or looking up new information online.

      And yes, we’ll make sure the li’l critters don’t make a trek to your room!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

