Networking Offline

Someday, I hope to replace my “dumb” phone with something a bit smarter. For now, though, it meets my needs. (Did you know that you can use a cellphone to make and receive phone calls?)

More and more people of all ages spend much of their time with their eyes and fingers glued to their smartphones. These days, there’s an app for nearly everything. The buzz of a phone can interrupt meetings and stifle ongoing conversations.

Is there such a thing as too much networking by electrons, and not enough face-to-face?

As important and powerful as online social networking can be, I believe there is still a limit to its effectiveness. As I walk the campaign trail, (at least nine miles and 20,000 steps so far), I enjoy the interaction with the folks I meet. The conversations may be brief, but they invariably start with a smile and a handshake.

Is there an app for that? I sure hope not!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. kelly

     /  June 13, 2011

    my husband has an ipod and my goodness they can do a lot! there are gadgets for the gadgets, i think smart phones need smart phones to keep track for them. i turned in my cell phone years ago, and love it. it feels a litte bit rebellious to not be able to be reached 24/7. of course i don’t have a job that requires it, either.

    as to social media, i am still having a hard time coming to terms with it. i was in college when it started as means for college students to connect, i still can’t believe my own mother has a facebook page (not that i can “see” it)! so i am lacking here, as well. at some point i suppose it will be too inconvienent not to join the rest of the world, but for now it still feels like a teenage’s playground overrun but overaged players. time will help, i suppose.

    have your boys joined you on the campaign trail yet? what a great experience for them.

    Reply
    • Great points Kelly. Sometimes I envy those who are able to pull themselves away from the world of cellphones and online social networking. Like many things in life, I suppose it comes down to balance.

      And yes, the boys have joined me on the campaign trail. I think they’ve enjoyed it.

      Reply
  2. Wade Abbott

     /  June 14, 2011

    Do not forget those who talk on their phones while driving.

    Reply
  3. Kenny a

     /  June 15, 2011

    I am writing this from my iPhone because I am too lazy to grab my PORTABLE laptop, turn it on, and make a comment. Plus if I wasn’t commenting from my iPhone, I’d have nothing to say that pertains to the post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

