A List for the Capital District Kids

My mother constantly accuses me of being a list-maker. I’m not sure why. (That reminds me… I should add “call mom” to my to-do list.)

Okay, I’ll admit it. I love a good list. Although, I take the ever-proliferating online lists with a grain of salt.

Still, I discovered a good online list recently. It’s the 2011 survey results from albany.kidsoutandabout.com listing the “Top 20 Places to Take Kids in New York’s Capital District.” A lot of great places to take the kids including:

But I must highlight number 8 on the list: Fun4Tots. It’s a very affordable playgroup held every week at a church just a few miles from my home. The boys and I go every week. I credit Fun4Tots with helping me stay sane over the past couple years. When it’s raining, snowing, frigid, or blistering hot, Fun4Tots is a place where the boys can work out their excess energy indoors. It’s a fantastic opportunity for them to socialize with other children and play with some awesome toys. (Seriously… I love the toys!) Furthermore, it’s one of those places not strictly targeted toward moms and kids. Dads, grandparents, aunts and uncles all bring their kiddos.

We go every Wednesday! If you’ve got kids 5 and under, check it out:

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  June 12, 2011

    it’s not an accusation; it’s a statement of fact. Has been for three decades.

    Reply
  2. Wade Abbott

     /  June 12, 2011

    Who better knows her child then a mother.

    Reply
    • springtimesoul

       /  June 12, 2011

      so did “call your mother” make your list?

      Reply
      • It’s definitely on my list… but politics and bedtime battles with the kiddos got in the way tonight. It’ll probably be a few days before I’ll be able to get ahold of you… I’ve got classes and meetings Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday.

    • No argument with that logic Dad!

      Reply
  3. kelly

     /  June 12, 2011

    awww the planetarium in schenectady didn’t make the list *sniff – sniff* my kids love that place. nor did Emma Treadwell Thatcher nature center (yeah I know Thatcher park did, but the nature center is awesome for kids!).

    oh and lists are awesome! most especially when things are ticked off them!

    Reply
    • We’ve gone to the Schenectady Museum, usually for their train show, but we’ve never gone to the planetarium. Add one more to our “to do” list!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

