A visit to ponder

Day 1 on the formal campaign trail was hot and humid. But it was very successful. I met some great folks. I collected a fair number of signatures. Now, I’ve heard from a number of political experts that you shouldn’t spend a whole lot of time chatting with folks while collecting signatures for petitions. The focus needs to be on collecting enough signatures to get on the ballot.

Generally, that’s true. I try to keep the conversations short and to the point.

However, there is one visit that took a bit longer. I knocked on a door, and it was answered by an older gentleman. Let’s call him “Joe,” (not his real name). Joe was a military veteran. He lived alone because his wife had recently passed away.

It was clear that Joe is still grieving. He and his late wife had enjoyed nearly 50 years of marriage. My heart ached when he showed me their wedding picture hanging on the wall. His voice never cracked. No tears could be seen in his eyes. But his love for his wife came through loud and clear.

Joe has no children and no family living nearby. It was apparent that he has some health issues and struggles with some of the routine home maintenance. I was worried. Some of those worries were relieved when he mentioned that his neighbors look in on him.

I asked if there was something I could do for him. It seemed that he was content just to have someone to engage in conversation.

Still, I’m concerned about him. I’m not entirely sure what more I can do for him. At a minimum, I hope to find time to just chat with him. In the meantime, “Joe” will be in my thoughts and prayers.

It’s a visit that I will ponder.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Wade Abbott

     /  June 8, 2011

    Never forget the “Joes” as you work ingetting elected and beyond.

    Reply
  2. springtimesoul

     /  June 8, 2011

    Head over with two kids and 4 cold drinks. You and “Joe” sit on the step and watch the little guys play. And take leftovers from a good home-cooked meal.

    Just a suggestion. . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

