The Cow Bus

Today was kindergarten orientation. Tim was thrilled to have his mommy take him to school for a sneak peek. He can’t wait to start school in September. There was a tour of the classrooms, storytime and a snack.

But the highlight, or so I’m told, was the bus ride. Tim got to practice his bus-riding skills with a short ride on the “cow” bus. He had to explain to his little brother that it was a bus with a picture of a cow in the window. Tim didn’t get to ride an actual cow. I think Danny was disappointed with that explanation.

Later my wife told me that parents weren’t allowed to ride the bus. They had to practice saying goodbye. Something tells me that today’s practice was probably more effective for the kiddos than for the parental units.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  June 2, 2011

    cow bus – white with black spots?

    Reply
  2. Wade Abbott

     /  June 2, 2011

    toughest time for parents are probably leaving their child at kindergarten and then leaving them at college.

    Reply
  3. First time reading in a long time – I have a lot of catching up to do.

    I can say for certain, first day of kindergarten and dropping off at college are not something that practice makes perfect. I boohoo’d at both of those events.

    Reply
    • I’ve got a ton of catching up to do on my blog-reading, too. I really need to get my daily dose of inspiration from your blog…

      Reply
  4. kelly

     /  June 4, 2011

    i can still remember “practicing” riding the school bus at my kindergarten orientation! that was a few (many) decades ago! it was a lot of fun.

    Reply
    • Wow! You’ve got a great memory. I don’t have any recollection of riding the bus before third or fourth grade.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

