Battling GM: Decision Point

There are days when I wish I could afford a new car. Not to replace my good ol’ reliable 1996 Saturn. Nope. I’d love to get rid of the 2006 Saturn Relay instead. It’s not quite a lemon, but it’s the most the most sour blue minivan I’ve ever come across. It’s a big blue money-vacuum.

The latest in the saga: malfunctioning automatic sliding doors. As we drove home from New Jersey this past weekend, I could hear more exterior noise than usual. I was annoyed, but not terribly concerned. And then we took an exit ramp with a tight turning radius. During the turn, the interior lights came on, and the driver’s side sliding door sounded like it was trying to open. Fortunately, the door was locked and stayed that way. I hope those locks don’t fail. Have I mentioned that the doors often require multiple attempts at closing them to stay closed?

Sigh.

Should I take this to GM? I had such a miserable time a few months ago. What do you think?

Oh yeah. The AC doesn’t work now either. Hopefully an AC system recharge will fix the problem. I don’t have high hopes, though.

If I could afford it, I’d pay to watch somebody crunch it into a teeny cube. Now, that’d be fun!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Jackie Paulson Author

     /  May 25, 2011

    If you can afford a new car, go for it! I love GM.

    Reply
    • It’ll be awhile before we buy a new vehicle. With our recent experiences with GM, I sincerely doubt the replacement with be a GM product. We’ll see how long we can muddle through with our existing vehicles.

      Reply
  2. springtimesoul

     /  May 25, 2011

    evem if they do nothing, the problem should get into their data base–for the safety of other Relay owners.

    Reply
  3. Wade Abbott

     /  May 25, 2011

    Could i watch it crunched maybein GM’s parking lot?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

