Garden Starters

My garden, otherwise known as the local restaurant for bunnies, is currently empty. Actually, I suppose it’s not technically empty. Due to all the rain there is at least one massive mushroom growing there. Danny saw it out the window today. He mistook it for a bird. I should take a picture of it, but I didn’t want to swim… err walk out there today.

Usually we attempt a mixture of flowers and veggies in our little 10 ft by 10 ft garden. This year, with a campaign looming large, I’m not sure I can dedicate the time.

Therefore, and with apologies to Shakespeare:

“To garden or not to garden – that is the question.”

The answer: a bit of a compromise. We’re going to skip the typical veggies and attempt a pumpkin patch again. Hopefully, it’s not too late, but tonight Timmy and I got the pumpkins started indoors. We’re also starting some marigolds, sunflowers, carnations, and zinnias.

Will they grow?

Keep your fingers crossed.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. springtimesoul

     /  May 16, 2011

    I’m planting foxglove (digitalis). As in heart medication. Supposedly, the critters give it wide berth. Maybe it sets their little hearts aflutter. I’ll save you a few seeds 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

