Reflections on War

Recently, I’ve been thinking more about the past decade of war. It’s a result of my journalism story on Quakers and the news of Osama bin Laden’s death at the hands of US Navy SEALs.

A decade is a long time to fight a war. Too long.

Yet, I recognize if we pull every military member out of Afghanistan and Iraq, that won’t be the end of the war. For that matter, we could close every overseas base and require every man and woman in uniform to return stateside. I would expect the war to continue.

It only takes one party to initiate a war. And whatever the reasons, there are terrorists who want nothing more than to see America wiped off the map.

Like it or not, we’re in this.

That’s why I’m grateful our country has brave men and women who serve in this time of war. While I’m not celebrating bin Laden’s death, I’m certainly not mourning it either. I’m glad that we have professionals including the SEAL teams to handle sensitive missions like these. I once had the privilege of witnessing a group of SEALs practice seizing a large ship. I was amazed at their efficiency and professionalism.

To all who serve today and in days past… I salute you!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I couldn’t agree more!

    Reply
  2. Kay

     /  May 5, 2011

    Very good points

    Reply
  1. Reflections on War « This Ordinary Citizen « 24atHeart

Leave a Reply

