Quakers in Abany

A little shameless self promotion here. It also functions as an explanation for why I haven’t spent a whole lot of time on my own blog. I’ve been busy with grad school writing.

My story about Quakers in Albany has been published on the Times Union’s Pine Hills blog. It’s all part of my journalism class. Not that I’m trying to drive up the TU‘s stats, but check it out.

On a personal level, I don’t foresee myself becoming a Quaker. Nor do I think I’ll become a regular at their weekly peace vigils. But don’t take that as criticism of their beliefs. Not at all. They have earned my immense respect. Their dedication to peace is impressive. For nearly a decade they have held their peace vigil at the state Capitol. Every Wednesday. Rain or shine.

That’s dedication!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Chuck Gerhard

     /  May 4, 2011

    My time in the service was partly dedicated to those who love the Lord more than their own lives. Several Christian denominations, and many within the more “mainstream” churches endure persecution, even in a country that exists so they may safely breathe free. Sadly most of our fellow citizens and (of course)our politicians choose to distance themselves and mock them as they stand firm in their faith.

    Reply
    • Chuck,

      Well said! Faith is so important, whether people choose it or ignore it. I cannot understand why some people mock it.

      I thank you for your military service, and I applaud you for dedicating it in the way you describe.

      Reply
  2. As a Roman Catholic I certainly have respect for our Quaker friends. Considering the history of this nation, my students still find it hard to believe that Catholics largely escaped bigotry and persecution in Maryland (the Catholic colony) and Pennsylvania (because the Quakers were truly tolerant of other beliefs).

    Reply
    • Interesting… I didn’t know that history tidbit. But my knowledge of the history of the colonies is not my strongest point.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

