School Daze

As I get closer to wrapping up grad school, we get ready for Tim to start kindergarten. Time flies. Seems like it was just yesterday that I hugged him after he banged his knee on the floor.

No, that was yesterday.

Seems like it was just the day before yesterday that I was rocking him to sleep next to his crib. He’s growing up fast. And that means in September he will board one of those big yellow behemoths that cruise our suburban streets weekday mornings and afternoons. He’s looking forward to it.

Tonight was the parents’ kindergarten orientation meeting. Of course, tonight also was my media ethics class. Because the bulk of class was dedicated to a group project, I opted to go to school and left the orientation meeting to my wife. A week ago, I considered attending the orientation meeting. I received some quizzical looks when I mentioned that I might have to skip grad school to attend kindergarten orientation.

Yet, I suspect my classmates and professor might agree… grad school could use a little kindergarten. How ’bout some recess, rest time, and snacks?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Right now I couldn’t even think about letting my son go off anywhere without me or my wife around. You are a brave man. By the way, what do you think of your Weeble?

    Reply
    • I’m honored to be “weeble-ized”! Haven’t stopped smiling since I read your post.

      Reply
    • kelly

       /  May 2, 2011

      i hear you harv, i used to say that exact thing about adam. that is one of the reasons we homeschool, albeit a small reason, lower on the list, but still one of those makes-you-smile reasons. it’s nice to be around the kids. we enjoy each-other’s company. and wade, time does fly, and i think grad school would definitely benefit from nap time and even a time-out spot. πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Hadn’t considered a time-out spot. I think that would be a good addition. ‘Course, I probably would end up in time out sometime. πŸ™‚

  2. springtimesoul

     /  April 28, 2011

    naptime is a very good idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

