Dogged by State Symbols

The New York State Legislature finally passes an on-time budget, and what happens? Suddenly, they have more time on their hands. At least, I think that’s the case with all the recent proposals for new state symbols. We already talked about the state veggie. Now it’s the state dog.

The Times Union’s Capitol Confidential blog reports that there is a bill to name the “rescue dog” as the state dog. Supposedly, it will bring awareness to the importance of adopting dogs that are in shelters after being rescued.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve got nothing against this latest idea. Just seems to me that if the trend of naming new state symbols continues unabated, we’ll only be aware that there are too many symbols.

One final thought. I haven’t been able to confirm it, but I’m suspicious of my cats. I think the “state dog” thing has ticked ’em off. Cats don’t like to be ignored. They want to do the ignoring. Don’t be surprised if you see a feline meow-in at the state capitol. I urge our state legislators to designate a state cat quickly. Otherwise, I cannot guarantee the safety of their office furniture from the claws of their whiskered constituents.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Wade Abbott

     /  April 24, 2011

    Then those mice will be really ticked off as well

    Reply

Leave a Reply

