Extraordinary Babysitter

Last week I registered for my final semester of grad school. That means mixed emotions. I know that I’m going to miss school. Interacting with classmates, even if it’s just a couple nights each week, has brought many new and dear friends into my life. And I really enjoy the academic environment. The classroom discussions are an excellent brain-booster.

On the other hand, this has been the most stressful semester thus far. (Journalism = not for me.) I am eager to finish the degree!

In the midst of the academic pressures, I must express my gratitude for a family friend who has made the process so much easier.

She’s our babysitter, and neighbor, Karyn.

Rumor has it that she was initially nervous about taking on the role. I can understand that. Watching two boys under the age of six is not exactly a cake walk. But Karyn makes it look easy. The boys absolutely adore her. I’ve had a number of classes canceled earlier this semester due to snow. When the boys found out that Karyn wasn’t coming over those evenings, I had to take swift action to avoid a mutiny.

She’s reliable. Knowing that the kids are in good hands makes it easy to head off for school.

She’s flexible. When last-minute academic assignments have come up, she’s adjusted her schedule.

She’s talented. I’m constantly discovering new art projects that she creates with the boys. Here’s the latest example:

Bunny Magnets

Simply put, she’s extraordinary.

And we’re very grateful!

Profiles of the Extraordinary is a category within the This Ordinary Citizen blog.  It features Ordinary Citizens who show us what it means to be Extraordinary.  If you know someone who should be profiled, contact the author.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. My wife and I are so blessed to have a great babysitter in my niece when she stays with us; but you’re right – the relief of knowing that your kids are safe when you have to head out of the house without them is an amazing thing. Cool bunny magnets!

    Reply
  2. springtimesoul

     /  April 21, 2011

    good hands, creative hands (love the bunnies!)

    Reply
  3. Wade Abbott

     /  April 21, 2011

    Thank God for good babysitters. I can not believe that your are in your final semester.

    Reply
    • Well, technically I won’t be done until the summer ends, but it’s right around the corner.

      BTW… congrats on posting the 600th comment on my blog Dad!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

