Chalk up another construction project

One of the advantages of a driveway is that it becomes a nice place for the boys to ride their big-wheels and bikes. It’s also a great place to use sidewalk chalk.

Leave it to my five-year old to combine the two. Perhaps a civil engineer in the making?

Road Construction

The drawings sometimes become multi-day projects. This road construction took two days. Yesterday, I pulled my car into its usual spot, directly over the main chalk highway. I was greeted, not by the usual hugs and smiles. Instead, I faced a five-year old foreman with his hands on his hips and a serious frown. “You can’t park on my road, Dad,” he sternly announced.

It was all I could do not to laugh at his serious demeanor. At the same time, I was so proud of the scope of his creation.

Today, I parked at the end of the driveway and thoroughly enjoyed watching both boys ride their bikes on the finished project.

It’s good to be a dad!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  April 13, 2011

    You need signs.

    Construction Zone
    NOT your tax dollars hard at work

    Drive Carefully
    My kid works here

    Reply
  2. Wade Abbott

     /  April 13, 2011

    Do they want to supervise my woodshed building?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

