The Great State Veggie Debate

Now that we’ve got a budget, it’s time to move on to the important legislation. Like selecting a “state vegetable.” Actually, this is one of those legislative debates that I might enjoy. (It’s true. I’m not a humorless critic of the state legislature.) Besides, I’m pretty fond of farming… this one might be fun.

According to recent news reports, there are bills circulating to designate the onion or its opponent, sweet corn, as New York’s state vegetable. There’s even a poll on the New York Farm Bureau’s Facebook page. Looks like corn’s winning. The Farm Bureau also suggested cabbage and pumpkins as possible contenders in this race. (Wouldn’t be fair though, because cabbage would always be “ahead.”)

Groan.

Wait, stay with me here.

So, who would I pick? Let’s look at the candidates:

  • Onions. While they are a necessity in my wife’s delicious chili, I’m not sure about this one. Might have to change New York’s welcome signs to say, “Welcome to New York. Don’t cry. It’s just the onions.”
  • Cabbage. No way. But I’m biased. I had a traumatic experience when I put my hand through a rotten head of cabbage while working on a produce farm as a kid. –shudder
  • Sweet Corn. A distinct possibility. Some folks may argue that corn is a grain and not a veggie. However, it is a favorite of my five-year old. Therefore, I’m calling it a vegetable. Tempting, but not my choice.
  • Pumpkins. Yeah… this should be the winner! You can carve them. You can make pie with them. You can launch them with a trebuchet.

Vote Pumpkin!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Jackie Paulson 1966

     /  April 11, 2011

    Your daughter loves corn so I will vote for corn too. Yes, this is not my favorite but it is to so many people around the world. I use to love it, but now that I have dentures, I no longer enjoy it.

    Reply
    • Actually it’s my son. Interestingly, he used to prefer corn on the cob, but nowadays he only eats it if it’s been cut off the cob.

      Reply
  2. Jackie Paulson 1966

     /  April 11, 2011

    I went to your family blogs to SharkNotes and found a cool site: http://www.abouteveryone.com/

    Reply
  3. Wade Abbott

     /  April 11, 2011

    It should be corn then you could live in the corny state.

    Reply
  4. springtimesoul

     /  April 11, 2011

    cabbage is in the running but not beans? that’s just wrong!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

