Designating a New York State Tax

Hot on the heels of New York’s official veggie debate, I looked up New York’s state symbols. I found an extensive list on I Love NY’s website.

Now, I knew about the state bird, (bluebird). I enjoy the crunch of the state fruit, (apple). I had heard about the state flower, (rose). And I bet the state tree, (maple), isn’t always happy with the state animal, (beaver). My dad’s favorite would be the state fish, (trout). But who knew that we have a state shell, (bay scallop)?

So… I had a thought. (Ignore the warning siren going off in your head.)

There’s still something missing. I think we should designate an official “state tax.” After all, the state is famous, make that infamous, for its high rates of taxation. It could be anything: income, property (I know it’s local – but they are driven higher by state mandates), sales, gasoline, cigarettes, or one of those crazy taxes masquerading as a “fee.” It could even be that good ol’ soda tax. Yeah, it disappeared with the new governor, but something tells me that it’ll be back someday, soda being evil and all.

Better yet… you pick:

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

