Twice Honored

Yesterday, I was honored to receive a blogging award from two of my favorite postaday bloggers. It’s called the “Versatile Blogger Award,” and it’s been making the rounds in the blogging world. I hadn’t heard about it before yesterday.

I’ve always been interested in how these things get started. I did a quick Google search, but didn’t come up with anything concrete yet. Anybody know the origins of the “Versatile Blogger Award”? I’m just curious.

Regardless of its origins, I’m very honored to be recognized by Debbi at 24atHeart and “Harvey” at Harvey Millican: Raising Your Kids Without Lowering Your IQ. Both of them have fantastic blogs!

Now, the award does come with some “rules”…

Hereby, as the recipient of the Versatile Blogger Award *ahem*, I shall adhere to the following rules:

  • Thank the person who awarded you and link to his/her blog
  • Tell 7 random facts about yourself
  • Pass the award to (up to) 15 new-found bloggers
  • Contact each blogger you want to pass the award on to, and let them know you’ve done so, and let the giver of your award know that you accept it…or not.

First, the thank-you’s:

  • Debbi has a great mix of inspiration, spirituality, and talented photography. (Check out one of my favorite posts: The Teeny Tiny World!) Thanks Debbi!!!!
  • “Harvey” keeps me in stitches. His blog revolves around his life as a father and husband. The stories that he tells are chock full of humor. He’s also got a really cool “Weebles vs. Little People” storyline on his blog. (Debbi has been helping that along, too.) Thanks “Harvey”!!!!

Second, the random facts about your’s truly:

  • I’ve ridden 330 different roller coasters in the U.S. and Canada.
  • I once spent 30 hours on a roller coaster.
  • When it comes to fun, there are two seasons: hockey season and roller coaster season.
  • I once made a fool of myself during a puck shooting contest at my alma mater.
  • In grade school, I was the best “air violinist” in the state of Illinois.
  • I used to watch NASCAR because the droning sound of the cars helped me nap on Sunday afternoons. Now, I’ve become a fan and can’t nap through a race.
  • If I could be any character from a Star Wars movie, it would be the Imperial officer in Return of the Jedi who said, “You Rebel Scum!”

Finally, some other blogs worthy of an award:

  • My mom’s musings: Springtime Soul
  • A classmate who has written her own book about going back to school as an adult: Alicia Legg
  • Another classmate and excellent writer who writes a yummy blog: Foodonia
  • Interested in social media? Check out SharkNotes. (Might be the coolest blog name ever.)

Guess I better end it there… the award show organizers are dragging me away from the podium.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  March 29, 2011

    I’ve never heard of the Versatile Blogger award, but if I had, I would have awarded it to you, too! Well deserved! I’m not tooooo prejudiced, even though I’m your mother (thanks for the mention).

    Reply
  2. Very cool Wade! I haven’t heard of this award either, but an award is an award! Yay! Thanks for the mention. I am always greatful.

    Reply
  3. Annie Wilson

     /  March 30, 2011

    I was always told “When receiving a compliment, say thank you and be gracious”. Congratulations! I enjoyed the background singing. I just opened an e-mail from a friend who sent the same song to me. It is performed by 3rd graders at Tussing Elementary School from Colonial Heights, Va. Good choice on your part

    Reply

Leave a Reply

