Gonna be a long night…

My poor little two-year old is under the weather. He seemed okay this morning. By late morning, he had a runny nose and a cough.

We handled it in the usual manner: a warm bath and some Vicks vapor rub before bed. A few hours later he awoke with a horrible cough from the congestion. But we’ve been through this before. I run the shower and stand outside it with him for a few minutes of steam treatment. It usually loosens the congestion and allows him to return to bed.

Tonight I knew he was feeling a bit better when he started pointing out the various sea creatures that decorate our shower curtain. It was confirmed when I asked him if he was feeling better. He smiled at me and said, “I fwinkso.”

Back to bed propped up by pillows this time. It might be a long night, but it won’t surprise me if the little guy is much better in the morning.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Ahhh, precious baby! I’m praying for him. 🙂 I love the “I fwinkso.” Just precious!

    Reply
  2. Amy

     /  March 16, 2011

    Aww Wade, I know your pain. I hope your little guy bounces back soon and that tomorrow or the next day he is running circles around the house making you wonder why in the heck you wanted him to be better! Hang in there. For me sick kids has so far been the hardest part of parenting. It is hard, so hard, but the older they get the less sick they get and the better they can handle it when aren’t well. I used to put a cool mist humidifier in their rooms along with a vicks vapo-plug in and shut their doors. It helps them a little and makes you feel like you have some control over the situation. Hang in there. You are not alone. Every parent is struggling with this too. And with warmer weather coming soon the virues will be few and far between. I hope you get some rest tonight.

    Reply
  3. Aw… Hate when the kids are sick. Hope he’s 100% soon!

    Reply
  4. springtimesoul

     /  March 17, 2011

    Ohhhh, nooooo! Hope you all got some sleep. And I hope that this is one thing the little guy doesn’t share with his brother.

    Reply
  5. Mary Christensen

     /  March 17, 2011

    It’s amazing how fast a little child can get sick, and then get well again. I hope he is much better today. And I hope none of the rest of you get it.

    Reply
  6. Thanks all! He spent much of the day dozing on the couch. It’s been a tough day for him, but he started perking up late tonight.

    Earlier tonight, his big brother cried a bit, (overtired I think), saying that he was disappointed that he couldn’t play with his little brother today. Very touching.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

