The Five-Year-Old Astronaut

My brother just sent my five-year old a birthday gift. Yeah, it was a little late, but who cares. The gift is cool!

My wife made a great guess about its arrival. On Monday she suggested that Timothy play outside and wait for our mail carrier to arrive. Shortly thereafter, she walked up to the house. In her hands was a package with Timothy’s name on it. He was ecstatic. I think he made our mail carrier’s day.

Before opening it, he was concerned that it might be “boring clothes.” Well, I guess the gift could be called clothing, but it was anything but boring.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A NASA space shuttle astronaut costume… pretty authentic, too. I wish they made these when I was my son’s age. Timothy has been wearing it non-stop. His pre-school teacher even said that he can wear it to class on Thursday. Timothy’s space adventures have been exciting. There are treasures in every pocket: everything from space rocks to alien bones. I love to watch his enthusiastic and imaginative play.

I think, too, that it’s a timely tribute to our country’s space program. After three decades, the space shuttle program is nearing its completion. Discovery, my favorite space shuttle, recently launched on its last mission. My favorite engineering blog/forum, CR4, has a great photo series of Discovery’s last launch on their Facebook page. Check it out.

Bring on the next generation of the space program. And NASA… my son is ready for his trip to Mars!

Oh yeah, thanks for the gift bro!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. That’s pretty neat! We live within five minutes of the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum (not the one on the Mall in DC but the much larger one at Dulles Airport where they actually have a space shuttle on display). In their gift shop they carry cool stuff like this. I also admire your choice in a name for your son. More and more I’m coming across people who give their son the name Timothy and actually use the full name. When I was a young boy my family insisted on calling me Timmy (still do and I’m in my 30’s). When I was ten I remember telling my mom that I wanted to be called Tim. “No”, she said, “I won’t call you that. That’s a name for a grown man not my little boy.” Thanks, Mom. LOL.

    Reply
    • Right now he prefers to be called Timmy… but I like Timothy or Tim. We also call him “Timmers” as a nickname.

      I’ve never been to the Dulles location for the Air & Space Museum. (I’ve been to the one on the mall many times.) Someday we’ll have to make the trip to that one! BTW… there’s another great space museum in Huntsville, AL. You might have to add that one as a stop on your extensive travels.

      Reply
  2. springtimesoul

     /  March 9, 2011

    Step aside, Spiderman. This will make a great Halloween costume–the astronaut and his sidekick robot, better than “Lost in Space.”

    Reply
  3. springtimesoul

     /  March 10, 2011

    A helmet with lights that flash?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

