Mind Readin’

I don’t usually use the Daily Post’s suggested topic, but today I couldn’t resist it:

If you could read minds for a day, would you?

My first reaction is “No way!” I’m not sure that I really want to know what’s going on inside my wife’s mind, especially if she’s angry with me. A few years ago, I watched a little of that Mel Gibson film: What Women Want. (Yes, admitting that was painful.) My point, though, is that if reading minds is anything like that movie, I’m gonna decline.

Besides, I don’t need a mind-reading capability for my kids… yet. I’m convinced that if a thought comes to their minds, they automatically share it. No such thing as too much information to a two-year old or a five-year old.

Question answered, right?

But then I thought about it from a political point of view. I’m just starting my campaign, and I already find myself annoyed with the crazy gamesmanship. For too many politicians, it is a game. And on occasion, I’m not sure what to believe from some folks. In those cases, I’ll admit that the ability to read minds would be tempting.

Until I take a step back. You know what, I don’t need to read minds. I’m not going to get hung up on what others are thinking about me or my campaign. I’ll stick to WYSIWYG. (What you see is what you get.) I know it sounds a bit idealistic, a little naive. But, I’m not running for office because it’s a “game.” It’s serious business. Schenectady County residents need good representation. It’s a simple as that.

On the other hand… I’d love to know what my cats are really thinking.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  March 9, 2011

    I don’t want to read minds, but it would be interesting if our elected leaders’ noses grew with every untruth told! Then I wouldn’t have to think “is (s)he lying?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

