A Day of Contrast

Today started with breakfast at the local VFW. They host one on the first Sunday of the month. A very yummy breakfast with pleasant conversation and great folks!

Call it relaxing.

Then it was off to church. We visited a church that we don’t normally attend. Our five-year old participates in a weekly program there called “Gopher Buddies.” He and his classmates received recognition for their achievements. That was followed by a wonderful worship service.

Call it uplifting.

The pace picked up after church. It was a hurried lunch quickly followed by piling back into the cars. My wife took the boys to watch our niece in her high school play. I changed into a suit and tie. That’s unusual because I typically change into more casual clothes after church, not the opposite. But that’s because I had to run off to an important meeting.

Call it rush, rush, rush.

That meeting was related to my campaign. I arrived on time, only to find all the doors locked with the rain falling. After finally getting in the building, I found myself engaged in an important discussion of local politics.

Call it intense.

Then after dinner, it was off to a meeting with my campaign treasurer to work on some paperwork. Not exactly exciting work, but we made excellent progress.

Call it productive.

Right now I’m still feeling like it’s a time of productivity. Mother Nature, however, has other things on her mind. The sleet, snow, rain and wind are threatening a power outage. The lights keep blinking, so I better wrap this up.

Call it the end of the day.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Nice format! Good luck.

    Reply
    • Thanks. Thought I’d try something a bit new tonight.

      BTW, you might find it interesting (ironic?) to know that you had the 400th officially approved comment on my blog. I saw you point out someone making the 300th comment on yours. Figured I should do the same.

      Reply
  2. Jackie Paulson 1966

     /  March 7, 2011

    Call it: relaxing, uplifting, rush, intense, productive, time for bed~
    Like your format too 🙂 Love your blog, your newest fan, Jackie Paulson

    Reply

Leave a Reply

