No Kidding. An Actual Snowman

It’s true. We finally built a real snowman. In a winter where we measured the snow banks in multiple feet, it took until the end of February to give us the right conditions. Today’s snowfall has the perfect snowman and snowball adherence properties.

Reminiscent of a certain cake, we used foodstuffs for part of the face. Candy bars for the eyes, crackers for the teeth/smile, a pretzel rod for the nose. (They were easier to find than the stones for which we initially searched.) We did find a large rock that is now embedded in the snowman torso. According to my son, it’s the snowman’s belly button. A hat, scarf, and traditional sticks for arms completed the masterpiece.

Finally, success!

On the other hand, I’m exhausted. After shoveling a driveway covered with more than a foot of heavy, wet snow… well, let’s just say that I’ve got both my strength training and cardio workout accomplished today.

Advil, here I come.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  February 25, 2011

    We got rain–which made more of the snow disappear. Life is good.

    Reply
  2. Wade, go check out my post. There is something better than Advil. LOL. We had no precip here, just 70 MPH winds. It was quite strange to say the least. Awesome snowman, btw.

    Reply
    • I saw your post… looks like pretty powerful stuff. But with grad school homework already keeping me up late, I think I’ll stick to the Advil or Tylenol.

      Don’t envy the winds that you got. High winds always make me a bit antsy.

      Reply
  3. Mary Christensen

     /  February 26, 2011

    Which did you do first, the shoveling or the snowman? And did Danny participate? Just walking around in over a foot of snow would be quite a challenge for a 2-year-old. The end result is very neat. Tell Timmy his snowman will get cold if his belly button is exposed! Maybe he needs a scarf around his middle! But then, if he stays cold he will stick around longer.

    Reply
    • First, I shoveled out Ellen’s car, (with Tim’s “help”). Then we made the snowman while Danny stayed indoors. Danny wasn’t feeling well. During nap time I finished shoveling the driveway. After dinner I shoveled again, pulled the snow off the roof, and shoveled again. I’m sore just thinking about it.

      I’ll have to tell Tim about your belly button comment. Very funny! But being “cold” may not have helped the snowman much. He looked a bit droopy when we came home tonight.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

