Nowhere Near a Millionaire

It’s true. I’m nowhere near being a millionaire. Briefly, though, I did have the responsibility for over a million dollars in payroll cash while serving in the Navy as a disbursing officer. And no, I didn’t get to keep a dime of that.

Still, I was intrigued by today’s Postaday2011 suggested topic:

What would you do with a million dollars, tax free?

Well, first I’d grab my head with both hands to stop the spinning. Since I don’t play the lottery it’s highly unlikely that I’d find myself with that kind of money. Yet, it’s the concept of tax-free income that would most likely cause my cranium to rapidly rotate.

Like one of my favorite bloggers, at least 10% would come off the top for church and other charitable giving. Then it would be time to pay off the debt… house, student loans, etc. Most of the rest would go into savings or investments.

But before I bore you to death, I will admit that my wife and I would probably take a small chunk of the money for a whirlwind trip across the country (continent?) to ride a as many roller coasters as possible.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yeah… that sounds good.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Wade Abbott

     /  February 19, 2011

    Why just 10%? How about the concept of genrosity

    Reply
    • Dad… of course you are right. And a situation like this would lead to increased opportunity to support some great organizations. The point I was trying to make is that lesson you taught me: it’s important to set aside a portion income first, before spending it on myself.

      I guess I’m never too old to learn from my parents. 🙂

      Reply
  2. I agree. And I probably would go over 10%, I just used that figure from the biblical concept of tithing.

    Reply
  3. Oh, and thanks for the kind words in the pingback! Glad to hear I’m a “favorite blogger”. The sentiment is totally mutual. I like learning from your style. I churn out the eight million word essays and you’ve got the “to the point” thing down pat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

