New York State: Saving us from Evil iPods

I’ve been known to rail against intrusive government.  Matter of fact, I gave a speech back in 2009 where I sarcastically asked for government help in all sorts of mundane activities.  One line jumps out at me today:

Perhaps I need a reminder from you [state government] to look both ways before I cross the street.

Turns out, we do need government guidance.  People can’t be trusted to cross the street if they are listening to their iPods, using their cellphones, or at all distracted by technology.  I guess droves of people forget how to watch for traffic when they’re bopping down the sidewalk with their tunes.

According to a New York Times story, there’s legislation in New York to save us from our own stupidity:

In New York, a bill is pending in the legislature’s transportation committee that would ban the use of mobile phones, iPods or other electronic devices while crossing streets — runners and other exercisers included.

I’m. Banging. My. Head. Against. The. Wall.

(But don’t worry, I don’t have my earbuds in right now.)

Seriously, don’t our legislators have better things to do?  I seem to recall hearing something about a budget crisis.  Something tells me that fining every earbud-wearing, cellphone-using, text-messaging pedestrian ain’t gonna pay the bills.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Don clarke

     /  January 27, 2011

    The NY Transportation is messing with Mother Nature. They will alter the future by polluting the gene pool and not allowing Natural Selection to proceed on an orderly basis. This is part of the “dumbing down of America” that the political parties are deliberately doing in order to cultivate a lower intelligence public that will continuously re-elect them. People who are not meant to survive due to their own careless or stupid acts should not be protected.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

