No More Soda Tax Proposals?

I stumbled across a report on WNYC’s news blog that New York’s brand new Health Commissioner said we won’t be seeing the return of the soda tax.

Sounds good to me. No surprise, I’m no fan of the soda tax, or fat tax, or whatever you call it. (You can read previous blog posts here and here.)

Assuming that this pans out, I’m already relatively pleased with Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s administration, at least fiscally.

Cuomo has come across in fairly fiscally conservative fashion lately.  I certainly hope he follows through on his promises to reduce government spending and cut taxes. Maybe he’ll even reduce the extent of government intrusion into our personal lives.

Here’s hoping. But I’m not holding my breath, either.

Now, I’m off to the gym to lose weight the ol’ fashioned way: exercise. Believe it or not, it actually works. No tax required.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

