Heart-warming Cupcakes

It’s cold, frigid cold, here in Upstate NY.  At least that’s what I classify below-zero temperatures.  Supposedly, it’ll be in the negative double digits tomorrow night.

Those conditions are dangerous, especially for those without homes or adequate clothing and heat.

That makes the recent actions of one of my favorite local bakeries all the more heart-warming.  I’m a big fan of Coccadotts Cake Shop in Albany, NY. (Trust me, and a friend of mine, their cupcakes are delicious.)  Today I watched a news story by YNN reporting that the bakery collected coats, hats and gloves to give to local shelters.  In exchange, Coccadotts gave each donor two free cupcakes.

What’s more… it was an idea generated on Coccadotts’ Facebook page. The idea came from one of the bakery’s fans.

Talk about a great example of community-focused social media!

Great job Coccadotts!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kayla

     /  January 23, 2011

    Wade I went to do this! I donated a winter coat and hoodie and got some vanilla cupcakes! They were amazing, of course.

    I loved that Rachel posted on Facebook asking for ideas (I pitched one myself) and then selected a winning idea that had such a great result. I also have worked with the Capital City Rescue Mission a lot through my assistantship and know what a great organization it is. Glad to see Coccadott’s using their social media power in such a great way.

    Reply
  2. I was truly impressed with their use of social media. They’re setting the example for the way things should be done.

    I’m not surprised that you donated some clothing, either. I’m betting that you would’ve donated with or without free cupcakes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

