Winter: yes. Wonderland: not so much.

Before I’m accused of whining about the weather, I do recognize that I live in Upstate New York.  On occasion, between the months of September and May, we get wintry weather.  Shouldn’t be a surprise to see snow out the window.

I even enjoy shoveling it on occasion.  It can be very peaceful to clear out the driveway with snowflakes drifting silently to the ground.

But I truly dislike the ice.  Gimme two feet of snow instead of a quarter-inch of ice any day.  And today… it’s the ice.

All iced up, fortunately nowhere to go.

On the plus side, I didn’t have to trek out to Albany for my first grad school class of the semester.

But it’s my two boys who are gonna be truly annoyed.  We’ve had plenty of snow, and now some sleet and ice.  However, we’re still lacking a storm with good ol’ packing snow.  You know, the stuff that makes for towering snowmen, massive snow forts, and epic snowball fights.

Maybe next time.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ya know, OC, I don’t think I’ve ever made a snow man. I know I’ve made a snow fort (before Texas) but that was just because my sweetie pie liked to dig holes in the massive piles in Jersey and hide out from the families. I don’t think I’ll be out building one in the back yard any time soon. But, enjoy! I’ll be thinking of you.

    Reply
    • ACO… come on over to Rotterdam the next time we’ve got a good “packy” snow. We’ll build snowman representations of our favorite politicians and throw snowballs at ’em.

      Reply
  2. BTW, this “ice” is what Texans normally call snow. Believe me, NY is the better place to be in this weather. I was stranded for 10 days once…ran out of food and oil (heat)…had to walk out for help as the roads were solid ice at that time. The ice even helped Lake Tawakoni take my boat during that one.

    Reply
    • I can’t imagine dealing with this kind of weather in Texas. Sounds like quite the experience.

      As for running out of food & heating oil, I thought Texans could just go out back and butcher one of them steaks on legs, then dig a new oil well. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

