Unofficially – The Big Announcement

It’s time for This Ordinary Citizen to take the big step into the murky world of local politics.

It is my intention to run for local or county office in 2011.  Specifically which office has yet to be determined.

This has been a tough decision, and one about which I have discussed at length with my wife, friends, and other family members.

I plan to seek endorsements from the Republican, Conservative, and Independence parties.  Additionally, I hope to run on the “No New Tax Party” ballot line.

The No New Tax Party came into existence in Rotterdam, NY in 2009.  At that time, four candidates for local office did what few believed possible. They were able to add the No New Tax Party line to the local ballot.  The NNTP platform was one of conservative fiscal responsibility and an agreement not to vote for tax increases.  That’s a platform I thoroughly support!

This year, one of those candidates, Brian McGarry, is again running for Rotterdam Town Supervisor.  I look forward to campaigning with Brian and others on the No New Tax Party slate.  Brian has a fundraiser scheduled for January 20th, 6 PM at Canali’s Restaurant in Rotterdam.  (Check out Brian’s website for more details.)  I hope that many of you can attend.

Clearly, there are still a number of details the must be worked out before I can formally announce my candidacy.

In the meantime, I’ve got a lot of work to do… learn about campaign finance requirements, attend meetings, request endorsements, etc.

I will be asking for specific support down the road.  I hope to see many of you on the campaign trail.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Dan N

     /  January 11, 2011

    Best of luck to you Wade, I think you’d be great! From the short experience I had with it, it’s an uphill battle from the word go. But if you’ve got the time and energy, I know you’ve got the support to do it.

    Reply
    • Thanks Dan! I am expecting an uphill battle… it’s not easy for an ordinary citizen to get elected. I’m grateful for all the offers of support that I’ve had so far, and I’m eager to take on this task.

      Reply
  2. Cool. The previous pingback is the first real negative response to this blog. I’m honored to be featured so sarcastically in another blog post. Really.

    Too bad the blog post it links back to doesn’t allow comments. Guess we can’t have a conversation ’bout it. Oh well.

    Reply
  1. Wades World - Tea Party On, Dude! | DailySok

Leave a Reply

