A Sad Day

I’ve been staring out the window as I quietly ponder Saturday’s events in Tucson, Arizona.  Small curtains of snow mournfully drift from the trees into the cold dark night.   It’s a fitting symbol for a sad day.

A Congresswoman is fighting for her life.  Rep. Gabrielle Giffords was doing what I believe more politicians should be doing.  She was meeting her constituents, speaking with them one-to-one, listening to their concerns.

Too many lost their lives.

Their names:

  • John Roll, a Federal Judge
  • Gabe Zimmerman, an aide to Rep. Giffords
  • Christina Green
  • Dorthy Murray
  • Phyllis Scheck
  • Dorwin Stoddard

Too many were injured.

They were Ordinary Citizens waiting to share their concerns with their elected representative.

I am especially saddened by the loss of nine-year-old Christina Green.  I cannot imagine the grief her family is going through.  As a father, my heart aches at the mere thought of losing a child.

I spent much of this week encouraging folks to get involved in local politics, here and on the Times Union‘s Tea Party blog.

Never did I dream that political involvement could be this dangerous.

I will remember these Extraordinary Citizens.  I pray for the recovery of those who were wounded.  I pray for their families.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wade – I am catching up on your blog posts. Congratulations on being published in the TU. Not sure how I missed this. Woot, Woot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

