When a Loss is a Win

RPI, my alma mater, lost last night’s hockey game to Clarkson (boo) in overtime.  Normally, I’d be tempted to grumble about trekking through the snow, only to see the boys in red & white lose to their green & gold rivals.

But not yesterday.  It was a great game to watch: fast-paced and hard-hitting.

I got to interact with friends I haven’t seen in over a year.

My two-year old was thrilled to watch the Zamboni resurface the ice.  He stood at the glass and gleefully hopped as it went past.

My four-year old cheerfully traded high-fives with the RPI players as they entered the ice.

Not bad for a Friday night family outing!

On the way home, my four-year old said, “Dad, I was angry that the green guys won.  I won’t yell about it, but I wasn’t happy.”

My wife and I reassured him that it wasn’t anything to get angry about.  It was a good game that we all enjoyed.

Inwardly, though, I couldn’t help but think, “Woo-hoo!  He’s not a Clarkson fan!”

Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  January 8, 2011

    Kudos to my grandson for articulating his anger instead of lashing out (and to his parents, who have modeled and discussed better ways to handle intense feelings).

    Reply
    • He might be setting the example for his dad on occasion, too. No one said that we can’t learn from our kids, too.

      Reply
  2. Shelley Dodson

     /  January 8, 2011

    Jack was happy that Clarkson won 🙂

    Reply
    • Clarkson… bah.

      Actually, it was very good game. I was impressed with Clarkson’s goaltender… made some truly impressive saves. Were you guys at the game?

      Reply
      • Shelley Dodson

         /  January 11, 2011

        No, we weren’t there. We are going to watch Clarkson at Colgate in February at our annual gathering with friends at Colgate. It’s fun to jab each other about the teams . . . as Jack attended Clarkson and he works at Colgate. I don’t think Colgate is doing too well this year, they lost a lot of seniors. Glad to see Clarkson is doing better this year. We should try to catch a game in town sometime.

      • I was pretty impressed with Clarkson. I think there’s a good chance that it’ll be Yale, RPI, Union and Clarkson in the ECAC finals this year.

Leave a Reply

