Representin’ the Dads on Parentology

I’m a bit nervous.  I’ll be appearing on a TV show just a few hours after posting this. The show is called Parentology, and it airs at 8:30 AM Sundays on CW Albany.

So, why am I nervous?  After all, the show was recorded weeks ago.  I’ve already experienced being interviewed for live TV.  This should be no biggie, right?

A little background:  I’ll be representating the stay-at-home dads on the inaugural episode of Parentology.  It’s a show all about parenting.

I’ve been a stay-at-home dad for over a year now.  It’s challenging, and it’s wonderful getting to know my boys better.  Best. Job. Ever.  (Just wish it paid a little better.)

But why me?  I’m no parenting expert.  I just try to do the best I can.  I’m learning what works and what doesn’t.  I learn from my parents, from my wife, from other parents, even from my kiddos.  Probably not from the cats, though.  They’re useless when it comes to parenting.

Yes, I’m far from perfect.  But that’s probably not atypical, and that’s why I hope this show will appeal to parents.

I was invited to participate in the show by Paula Gretzinger, the show’s host and creator.  I met her a few months ago at a local play group that my kids attend weekly.  It was an honor to be asked to appear on the show.

A few weeks ago I journeyed to Saratoga Springs High School where the show was recorded using their television studio.  My two boys played and watched videos with Paula’s daughter as the show was recorded. Meanwhile, I sat on a couch with two mothers as Paula interviewed us.  It seemed like there were cameras everywhere, the microphones needed constant adjustment, and wow… those lights were hot.

It was a great experience.  I enjoyed every minute.

I guess I’m just a little nervous to see the final result.  Hopefully, any of my gaffes have been edited out.  But just in case, there’s one that I need to apologize to my wife for in advance.  During the show, I mistakenly referred to myself as a “single dad” instead of a “stay-at-home dad.” Uhhh… whoops.  After removing my foot from my mouth, I believe I made an attempt at some self-deprecating humor and quickly corrected myself.

For the record:  I wouldn’t have a modicum of success as a father without the help of my wonderful wife.  She’s a great mother to our kids.  I couldn’t do it without her!

Hopefully, I did okay representin’ the dads.  Otherwise, I’ll never hear the end of it.  Guys are like that.

The DVR is set.  Bring on the show!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. You did a great job, Wade!! and your boys were very well-behaved and tons of fun to be around while you were in the studio with Paula 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for the kind words. And thanks for keeping an eye on the boys. We enjoyed watching the show this morning, too!

      Reply
  2. Mary Christensen

     /  December 5, 2010

    I hope I get to see a recording of this while I’m in NJ. Just for the record, Tim and Danny are very fortunate to have two wonderful parents.

    Reply
    • We’ve got the show saved on our DVR. We’ll definitely have a showing or two of it over the holidays.

      The kids are looking forward to seeing their Great Grandma (stress the word “Great”) for Christmas! Their parents are looking forward to it, too.

      Reply
  3. Lori Bindig

     /  December 9, 2010

    I’m sure you were great!

    Reply
  4. Wade, I missed it! I was in NJ so I wasn’t able to set up the DVR. Do you have a link or the ability to upload it to YouTube?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    December 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
