Hey General Motors: I’m not Going Away

H. Drews photo, used with permission.

Yup, I’m still ticked over GM’s lack of concern about about our vehicle’s safety.  (Check out my previous post.)

Executive summary:  for at least two years we had driven around with an unsecured driver’s side seat belt anchor in our 2006 Saturn Relay.  GM refuses to cover the cost of a safety inspection.  You know… to make sure the vehicle isn’t a death trap.

Here’s the latest update.  GM customer service quit returning my calls.  I’ll admit, we spent some time playing phone tag.  However, I left voicemails with my availability on multiple occasions, timeframes well within GM’s business hours.  Did I receive a single phone call during those timeframes?  Nope. Not a one.

It gets better.  On Monday I received a call from a third-party company asking me to take a survey about my experience with GM customer service.  In particular, they wanted to know about my interaction with the GM customer service rep with whom I’ve been playing phone tag.  Once I told them that I had not spoken with the individual, they said, “whoops.”  Apparently, they can only conduct the survey when actual interaction (not voicemails) takes place.  Go figure.

I guess it doesn’t matter to GM that their customers drive around with seat belts and seats that are not secure.

Don’t worry GM.  I’ll send you the bill for the safety inspection after my mechanic completes the inspection.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lee Abbott

     /  November 11, 2010

    So if I’m the customer service representative and I know that customers I talk with are surveyed and there is some reward (bonus? promotion?)coming from high satisfaction scores. . .I can keep my scores higher if I just don’t actually talk to customers who are already really upset. Incentive to avoid the call. If there’s a lot of comopetition for a limited reward, all the cusotmer service reps will be avoiding the difficult customers.

    Reply
    • I think that’s an excellent breakdown of the situation. Sort of sets aside the whole idea of “good customer service.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
