Tea Partying like its 2010

Election Day 2010 is here.  It’s been an election run-up unlike any other for me. Ever since my involvement in Tea Party rallies in 2009, I have taken a greater interest in the political process, especially on the local level. The last two years have been a bit unexpected… at least politically.

As I settled into my seat for another Monday night grad-school class, a couple classmates engaged me in conversation about the election.  Was I excited at the prospect of political change?  Would I be following the election closely after Tuesday night’s class?  What races would be most interesting?

It got me thinking.  (Dang, I was hoping to avoid that today.)

Why have Tea Party folks gotten involved in the political process?  Why do they attend the rallies?  They’re questions that I’ve been asked frequently.

Just happens that I asked a similar question at last April’s Tea Party rally in Albany.  It was nice to attend a rally and just chat with other attendees. So I took my good ol’ digital camera (nothing fancy) and took video of folks’ answers to my question.  I asked, “What brought you here today?”

As part of a class project this past summer, I edited their answers into the video posted below.  Previously, I’d debated whether or not to share it. Frankly, the video/sound quality were less than desirable.  But I think it provides insight into why Tea Partiers have gotten involved in the political process.  You might even recognize a few of them.  I call a number of them Extraordinary Citizens.

Will their involvement have an impact?  To a large extent, I believe the answer is already a “yes.”

I encourage Ordinary Citizens to get involved in the political process, regardless of where they fall on the political spectrum.

Now go vote.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
