The Year of the Pumpkin: Visiting the Patch

The boys enjoying their pumpkin patch pickings.

I need a break from complaints, politics and grad school.  So let’s talk pumpkins.

It’s been a great year of pumpkins for my family.  Well, except for the recent pumpkin theft.  Our first endeavor at growing pumpkins was a rousing success.  Almost too successful.  We had a pumpkin hanging off a chain link fence, another entangled in the forsythia, and a third in our neighbor’s yard.  A couple others actually decided to stay within the garden.  On top of that, my in-laws brought over large pumpkins for their grandchildren.  Yup, we’ve got pumpkins, lots of ’em.  Even so, I took the boys to the “Pick a Pumpkin” Pumpkin Patch.

This was the first year that I got to take both of my boys to the pumpkin patch.  I’ll admit that I was fearing a morning of wind, rain, mud, and whining.  Just replace the “whining” with “fun” and you’ll get an accurate picture of the day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I couldn’t have asked for a better morning, even with the rain.  We listened to stories, went on a muddy hayride, picked some “ornamental” corn, selected a pumpkin, went through a maze, and ate yummy cider doughnuts.  The boys got to crawl through a hay tunnel.  We got to see numerous animals including a calf, goats, sheep, turkeys and pheasants. Perhaps the highlight of the day was playing in the three-story clubhouse. Actually, I think it should be called a treehouse because of the tree it’s built around.

Perhaps the only thing missing was a zip line like a friend of mine described in her blog, Foodonia.  But that’s probably not they target demographic at “Pick a Pumpkin.” On the other hand, we could’ve rolled down a big hill if it hadn’t been such a rainy day.

My only complaint came on the trip home.  Have you seen that Geico commercial with the pig that cries all the way home?

Apparently my kids think its hysterical.  My two-year old can do an amazing impression.  No, I don’t let him stick his head out the window. It’s funny the first couple of times.  After that… not so much.   But I digress.

Anybody need a pumpkin?  I’ve got some extras.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  October 22, 2010

    Those extra pumpkins can be made into pie, or soup, in theory. I don’t speak from experience. . .I get my pumpkin from a can.

    Glad the boys (all three of you) had a good time.

    Reply
  2. Kayla

     /  October 22, 2010

    Thanks for the zip line mention! I am glad you went pumpkin picking despite having pumpkins, it’s a tradition in my family that I remember so clearly and I’m sure your kids appreciated it!

    Side not, do you use a widget or plug-in to make that slideshow? I need to do that.

    Reply
    • I thought the zip line post was pretty cool. I have yet to do a zip line. Sounds like fun.

      The slideshow is accessible from the “Add an Image” button post editor. (It’s located to the right of the text that says “Upload/Insert.”) When you upload multiple pictures, there is a tab on the pop-up window that allows you to create a gallery or a slideshow. The downside is that the gallery or slideshow will display all of the pictures uploaded for that post. On occasion I’ve had pictures in a post that display in the slideshow/gallery, but I haven’t figured out how to not include them.

      We can experiment with the slideshow/gallery feature in class if you’d like…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
