What to ask the author who wrote “everything”?

Just finished reading a good book.  For my journalism class.  I’m serious. Say Everything: How Blogging Began, What It’s Becoming, and Why It Matters by Scott Rosenberg is assigned reading for my “Online Journalism” class.

In addition to being an author, Rosenberg was a co-founder of Salon.  He’s got his own blog called Wordyard.  Based on some of his blog posts, a few of his tweets, and even portions of Say Everything, I suspect that we don’t share the same political viewpoint.  But no biggie… it’s his take on blogging that fascinates me.  So much so that I finished the book earlier than required in the class syllabus.

What’s more, Rosenberg is coming to The College of Saint Rose tonight. The upside:  I get to listen to an author speak about one of my favorite topics.  The downside: I have to make an extra trip out to school this week.

Ya’ know, the last time I got to meet the author of one of my textbooks was during my undergraduate days.  My calculus professor.  Not exactly an exciting moment.

In this case, I’d say the sacrifice of an extra trip to Albany will be worth it. The book covers a lot of blogging ground.  It contains plenty of blogging history, significant controversy (could that be called “blogtroversy”?), and some exciting predictions.  I’m looking forward to hearing more from Rosenberg directly.  I’m particularly interested in hearing more about Rosenberg’s chapter titled “Journalists vs. Bloggers.”  It’s one of those areas where my journalism professor and I have engaged in some friendly disagreement.  Makes for interesting discussion.

Here’s hoping I can ask an intelligent question or two.

Uh, does anybody have a suggestion?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. “blogtoversy”. What a hoot! Better trademark that one and send it to Webster. If EVOO got in, yours stands a chance.

    Reply
  2. Thanks Alicia. I’m gonna have to use it more often. ‘Course that means I’ll have to create some more “blogtroversial” posts.

    Reply
  3. I don’t think that will be too hard! That is why your readers keep tuning in. Self included. 🙂

    Reply
  4. springtimesoul

     /  October 20, 2010

    You’ll read my question after you hear the author…oh well. Here goes: how do you decide what to write in a book and what to write in a blog? A book about blogging? A blog about writing a book?

    Reply
    • That would’ve been an excellent question. I think he addresses it in the book, but I can’t remember exactly where to look it up.

      So, I didn’t ask him any questions during the Q&A. But I did ask him one when he was signing my book. I asked, “Since your first book is titled Dreaming in Code, do you now find yourself ‘dreaming in blog’?” He chuckled and said that since he has two young kids he isn’t getting enough sleep to dream.

      I think I can understand that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
