A Foray into Journalism

Here’s my favorite new line:  “I’m no journalist, but I play one in grad school.”  It’s true.  I am taking a class called “Online Journalism” this semester.  So far, it is the most challenging course that I have taken during my graduate work at The College of Saint Rose.

I walked into the class a bit nervous.  That’s unusual for me.  Usually I’m excited about a new class.  However, writing journalistically (is that even a word?) had me concerned.  Why?  Because I wasn’t sure how well I would handle my bias and opinions.

You may have noticed that I have some opinions.  Okay, I have a lot of opinions.  I have opinions on the opinions of other folks’ opinions.  And I’m not afraid to share them.  Objectivity and bias could be problematic for me. I have to work hard not to throw my opinion into a story that I’m writing.

We’ve got a few assignments this semester.  First, we are all writing stories profiling Saint Rose alumni.  Our goal is to get those stories published in the school’s student-run newspaper: The Saint Rose Chronicle.

The next challenge is to research and write two stories about the Pine Hills area of Albany.  That’s the neighborhood where Saint Rose is located.  In this case, our goal is to get our stories published in the Times Union’s Pine Hills Blog.

So, how is it working out?  Actually, fairly well.  I expect that my first story will make it to the Chronicle.  I will do my best to get my other two stories published.   Along the way, I may use this blog to share and comment on those stories.

Hey, I gotta share my opinion somewhere, right?

I won’t say that it’s a breeze.  Writing, researching and interviewing in a journalistic style isn’t easy for me.  I’ve easily doubled the amount of time that I would normally put into comparable writing assignments.  However, I enjoy the challenge, and I believe it will make me a better blogger.

Just don’t count on me becoming less biased.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sharkles

     /  October 8, 2010

    Writing objectively can be tough at first, but it’s a great skill to have. Good luck getting in The Chronicle. I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s articles in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
