Murphy’s First Campaign Ad – FAIL

Recently I came across Congressman Scott Murphy’s first 2010 campaign advertisement on TV.  It left me shaking my head and chuckling.  I also found it posted on YouTube by ScottMurphy2010.  Take a few seconds and check it out:

Ok, he’s got a big family.  I wouldn’t relish shopping for their Christmas presents.  Frankly, though, I don’t see how family size plays into whether or not any candidate is the right person to represent New York’s 20th District.  So, let’s examine what Murphy says within the ad.

Here’s Murphy’s statement that first got my attention:

For starters, sometimes they eat too much.  Just like Congress spending money.

But, wait.  Mr. Murphy, aren’t you one of those in Congress who’s been voting to spend money like it’s going out of style?

Next:

To get anything done, you’ve got to be tough.  And ignore all the talk.

Really?  Initially there was a vote against the healthcare reform bill.  Later, when the pressure was cranked up by Democrat leaders… that vote changed to a “yes.”  Mr. Murphy, did you “ignore all the talk” then, or did you cave to pressure?  Truthfully, and I’m not being sarcastic here, I’m not sure.

Finally:

I approve this message because I know about Washington.  I’m going to teach them they have to pay attention to us.

And then he’s tagged “out.”  Kind of ironic, huh.

Mr. Murphy, it looks like you’ve got a wonderful family.  I really do admire your dedication to your family.  However, this political advertisement is a failure.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dan N

     /  August 29, 2010

    Do you remember Murphy’s campaing ads from his first run? They were very similar to this, featuring his extended family having dinner and playing ball in the back 40. I think this was an effective strategy for him as a relative unknown. It gave the impression that you were supporting the neighbor kid and that he would have your family in mind. But, now that Murphy has shown colors time after time, I frankly find this ad embarrasing.

    The first thing I thought after watching this ad for the first time a couple of weeks ago was, isn’t there one person in that group of 59 that is conservative? The looks that family member must give Murphy at Sunday dinner must be deadly. Are any of those at the Murphy dinner table completely ashamed to know how readily he sold then down the river when he voted yes on Obamacare and never read a line of the bill? If I was his brother-in-law I know I’d be dying to mix him a drink if you catch my drift. I would love to be a fly on the wall in that house on Sunday.

    Just my two cents…

    Reply
    • Dan,

      Excellent take on the family bit for his first campaign. It was effective in the midst of a very heated (and sometimes downright ugly) mudslinging competition that garnered national attention. It could even be a good starting point for this year’s campaign. However, they executed it very poorly based upon the statements he made during the ad.

      If I was his brother-in-law, I wouldn’t mix him any drinks. But you can be sure that I’d grumble about his actions on the way home from the shindig.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

