Ordinary Disappointment

Defining the Ordinary Citizen-Part III (Also check out Part I and Part II)

As a society, we expect much from our leaders.  Sometimes our expectations can be too high.  However, in recent years I feel like our societal expectations have plummeted.  And despite that we still find constant disappointment in our leaders, especially from elected leadership.

Case in point:  the New York State budget.  Actually, I should say the lack thereof.  As I write this, the budget is well over 120 days late.  According to an article by Fred Dicker in the New York Post, chances are good that a new record for a late budget will be set this year.  (August 11th is record-breaking day.)  Woo-hoo!  We might break the record! Oh wait, that’s not a cause for celebration.  What a pitiful performance from our elected leadership!

Below is the next section of my “Ordinary Citizen” speech from last year’s Albany Tax Day Tea Party.  The Ordinary Citizen’s disappointment in our so-called leaders is very evident:

I am an Ordinary Citizen, and I am appalled! As I look at society around my, I am truly disappointed in those we call leaders.  Whether they are politicians, CEO’s of large companies, school board members and superintendents, presidents of colleges, I find myself less-than impressed.  Companies are deemed “too big to fail.”  Massive bailouts, according to our esteemed government, are necessary to save these companies, or even states themselves.  When ordinary citizens express their disagreement, they are largely ignored.  It seems that not a single one of these leaders has the guts to fail.  They can rely on the safety net of the ordinary citizen.  Budget cuts, when they do happen, come to the ordinary citizen.

Don’t get me wrong; good leaders should be highly compensated.  But good leaders also need to be the first to have their salaries cut.  It’s called leadership by example.  I see very little “good leadership” in corporate society.  Even less in public society and government.

And this next line from the speech may very well be my personal favorite:

That giant sucking sound you hear coming from Albany… that’s not just the money being sucked from your wallet, that’s also the sound of the leadership vacuum in our government.

I can’t say that our elected leaders, especially in my home state of New York, have done much to shift my perceptions of disappointment or cool my anger.

But before I am accused of just being an angry Tea Partier, I must assure my readers that the Ordinary Citizen has ideas.  Find out about them in Defining the Ordinary Citizen – Part IV.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

