Time to thank Dad!

I’ve got a confession to make. I didn’t get a card for my dad for Father’s Day.   Oops.  I’m hoping to use my blog as an opportunity to make up for that… at least a little bit.  I’m not sure that Dad reads my blog, but I know Mom does.  (Hopefully, she’ll tell my dad to read this post.)

My dad is an ordinary citizen, and he is an excellent father!  As I learn more about being a dad, I realize how much I learned from my father.  He taught me the difference between right and wrong.  He showed me the importance of faith.  But his life lessons were not all completely serious. He took us camping and fishing.  He showed my brothers and me just how much fun it is to wage war with rubber bands.  And one of those childhood memories that I treasure is admittedly a little odd.  I look back at those days of eating lunch with Dad during the summer months:  we would have tomato soup and watch the “A-Team” on a small black-and-white television.  To this day, I can still recite the entire intro to the “A-Team.” (“In 1972 a crack commando unit was sent to prison by a military court for a crime they didn’t commit…”)

I continue to learn from Dad to this day.  That will not change anytime in the foreseeable future.

Do you have a Father’s Day anecdote to share?  Do you want to say “thank you” or “Happy Father’s Day” to your Dad?  Feel free to leave a comment.

Thanks Dad!  Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  June 20, 2010

    The nightlight went out. We didn’t have any extra bulbs, but a bulb from the Christmas tree lights would work. So in the middle of the night, my father moved the couch to get to the closet with the Christmas decorations, rummaged through the boxes and borrowed a bulb so that I wouldn’t have to be afraid of the dark.

    Reply
  2. kabsters

     /  June 21, 2010

    I remember when Dad used to come to my basketball games. Afterward, if we lost, Dad would tell me something along the lines of “That ref was a joker. There was no way you should have fouled out and lost.” Or something like that. Gotta love the defensive father.

    Reply
    • Good point bro. To add to that thought, I can remember Dad often challenging me to better myself: both academically and athletically. But it never went overboard.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
