Remembering our most extraordinary.

It is Memorial Day.  Each year I spend some time reflecting on the achievements of our extraordinary men and women of the military.  I’ll admit, I usually spend the holiday riding roller coasters. It is the traditional start of the summer season, and I often spend more time thinking about these trips.  This year, however, we are staying at home, and it provides me with an extra opportunity to think about the sacrifices of our nation’s military.

For almost ten years many of our soldiers, airmen, sailors and marines have faced combat in Afghanistan and Iraq.  Others have been called to help in places like New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina or Haiti after the recent earthquake.

I had the opportunity over a decade ago to serve my country as a Navy Supply Corps Officer.  I spent four years on active duty in peacetime, but I elected not to make it a career.  In 1999 I resigned my commission as a Lieutenant.  It was challenging and rewarding, but it was nowhere as tough as the situations faced by our troops these days or by those who faced combat in the past.

Patriots fought to create this country during the Revolutionary War. Brother fought brother during the brutal Civil War, a war that eventually kept the states united.  World War I, World War II, Korea, Vietnam, and today’s war on terror cost many lives.  In each of these conflicts, and many others, ordinary citizens fought beneath the Stars & Stripes.  Politics aside, they fought for freedom and liberty.  They have and continue to show us what it means to be extraordinary!

This Memorial Day, I close my eyes and listen to the sharp crack of a 21 gun salute.  The haunting sound of a lone bugle playing “Taps” echoes in the distance.  A lump rises in my throat and tears form at the corner of my eyes.  Protectors of Freedom, past and present, I salute you.  I am humbled by your service and your sacrifice.

Thank you is not enough.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
