A Year Ago Today…

…my life changed more than I ever expected.

The Albany Tax Day Tea Party came to fruition on April 15, 2009.  I had the honor of leading a fantastic group of volunteers in putting it together.  On April 14th, we were expecting around 1,000 people to show up.  Estimates ranged from 3,000 to 5,000 attendees on April 15th.  Many of us thought it would be a one-time event, an opportunity to vent.  It became a movement.  It was a success, and it changed my life.

In a year where I lost my job, a year where my family struggled financially, the Albany Tax Day Tea Party became a bright spot.  As corny as it sounds, it is one of the high points in my life.  To be fair, it cannot come close to my wedding day or the birth of my kids.  But it’s a day that ranks in my top five.

I plan to provide a detailed history of the event in later posts.

This year there is another Albany Tea Party scheduled.  It will not be on April 15th.  Many people are heading to Washington DC instead, so this year’s event is on Saturday, April 17th.  It is called America Rising – Albany Tea Party 2010.  While I am not leading the event planning this year, I am one of many volunteers.  I will be attending, and I hope you can, too.

To all of you Patriots who participated in planning last year’s Tea Party and/or this year’s, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

See you on Saturday!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
