And the Oscar for Best Actor Goes To… Not Me.

Graduate school has been keeping me busy.  I am finishing up my second semester in the Communications program at The College of Saint Rose.  Despite an undergrad degree in materials engineering, I am enjoying it immensely.

The upside…  no tests that require hours of study.  No endless derivations of intensely complicated mathematical formulas.  I enjoy the reading, writing and presenting.  I love the opportunity to be creative, probably because I’ve never thought of myself as a particularly creative person.  Most of all, I enjoy the interaction with a diverse group of classmates.  Why in the world did I pursue an undergrad engineering degree in the first place?  Oh yeah, I kind of enjoyed that, too.

The downside… it takes time.  And with the end of the semester approaching, the projects and papers have piled up.  Other tasks on my “to do” list have suffered a bit, including this blog.  But enough excuses.

You might get a kick out of a couple videos that my group created for a presentation on effective listening for our Group Communication & Leadership class.  My [ahem] exceptional acting abilities are featured.  Realistically, I thought my classmate Kayla and I did a decent job.  Especially since both videos were done in a single take using a Flip cam.  (I await the humorous criticism of my Hollywood brother and sister-in-law.)

I cannot imagine why the Academy overlooked us.  Maybe the Oscar is in the mail.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. springtimesoul

     /  April 15, 2010

    WDA #1. . .how rude! I hope your pizza is congealed grease on cardboard when you finally get to eat it!

    Reply
  2. I’m sure the pizza would have been… I play a pretty good “evil manager,” at least until I started to laugh at the end of the video. Fortunately my leadership style is much more like that of the second video. Both videos generated some good discussion in our class. My group of four classmates had fun making the videos.

    Reply
  3. kabsters

     /  April 16, 2010

    Maybe an Oscar if it was in 3D.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Welcome!

    I believe that we desperately need to hear the stories of Ordinary Citizens who make a difference in our lives, our communities and our world.

    Why not be Ordinary?

    Why not make a difference?

    Why not be Ordinary AND make a difference?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 605 other followers

  • Calendar

    April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
